Stephanie Braunstein honored with leadership award

Braunstein, Stephanie (candid)On March 22, 2016, in the Hill Memorial Library lecture hall, the LSU Libraries’ Faculty Awards Committee (Tom Diamond, Jessica Lacher-Feldman, Paul Hrycaj) announced Stephanie Braunstein as the first recipient of the Carolyn H. Hargrave Faculty Leadership Award. Dr. Hargrave attended the ceremony and presented Braunstein with the award.

Braunstein is the Head of Government Documents at LSU Libraries, and has served in this position since coming to the LSU Libraries in 2007. Under her leadership, the LSU Libraries’ Government Documents department received the 2015 Government Publishing Office, Federal Depository Library Program’s Regional Federal Depository Library of the Year Award. Colleague Kelly Blessinger noted that “Stephanie has been an asset and a wonderful colleague. I couldn’t think of a more deserving candidate for this award.”

Since 2010, Braunstein has also represented Louisiana on the Council of the American Library Association, the governing body of ALA. Each state association elects one representative to serve on the council of the ALA , and as Louisiana’s representative, Braunstein is also on the Executive Board of the Louisiana Library Association. Her leadership has already been recognized with the 2015 Louisiana Library Association’s Margaret T. Lane Award, sponsored by the Government Documents Round Table of the Louisiana Library Association, which recognizes an individual or organization that has made an especially significant contribution in advancing access to, or use of government information in Louisiana.

Colleague Mike Russo stated that “The Hargrave Award was made for someone with Stephanie Braunstein’s qualifications and accomplishments. She is a strong leader who has earned and continues to earn the recognition this award represents.”

The award is named in honor of Dr. Carolyn H. Hargrave, retired Vice President for Academic Affairs of the LSU System. Hargrave’s leadership and vision played an instrumental and critical role in the establishment of the Louisiana Online University Information System (LOUIS) and the Louisiana Library Network. Hargrave received the first Outstanding Academic Librarian Award presented by the Academic Section of the Louisiana Library Association.

Posted in Announcements, People

Leave a Reply

In Archive