News & Notes

Music in Middleton Fall 2018

Posted in Announcements, Events


Middleton Library is hosting a concert performed by musicians from the LSU School of Music in the Middleton Library lobby. This is an opportunity for these performers to showcase their talents and for other students to enjoy musical entertainment. Music in Middleton is typically held from noon to 1 p.m. Below is a list of dates Music in Middleton occurs during Fall 2018, as well as a list of performances.

November 12

11:30 a.m.

Design Building Lobby

Solo Violin Sonata III in C Major, III Largo IV Allegro assai, by J. S. Bach (1685-1750); Hannah Urdea, violin

Caboclo (2018)* , by Wagner Duarte; Soyeon Rachel Seo, violin; Kaiyue Zhu, violin; Felipe Vianna, viola; Nai Chien Yo, cello; Ivan Smetankin, bass

MusicaDesConcerto, by Luciano Correa; Luciano Correa, cello;

Nature Alley , by Dean Gronemeier; Manuel Trevino, marimba

Passacaglia (Mystery Sonata), by H. I. F. Biber (1644-1704); Sinella Aghasi Moshabad, violin

Three Monologues for Cello (2018) , I Mirages Prologue II Mirage Lamento III Sertao, by Wagner Duarte; Raudol Palacios, cello

Waste of Time/Enough/All I Want, by Maggie Butler; Maggie Butler, voice; Gil Platt, guitar

October 22 Quartet No. 2 in D, I Allegro moderato, III Notturno by: Alexander Borodin (1883-1887)Soyeon Rachel Seo, violin; Kaiyue Zhu, violin; Felipe Vianna, viola; Nai Chien Yo, cello

Allemande by: J.S. Bach  (1685-1750) From cello suite No. 5Anna Ivanova, viola

“Time” for vibraphone and viola (2018)* by: Anna IvanovaManuel Trevino, vibraphone; Anna Ivanova, viola

Three Monologues for Cello (2018) by: Wagner Duarte, I Mirages Prologue, II Mirage Lamento, III SertaoRaudol Palacios, cello

Serenade No. 12 for Solo Tuba, Op. 88 Vincent Persichetti (1915-1987) I Intrada, II Arietta, III Mascheratta,  IV Capricio, V Intermezzo, VI MarciaAdam Torres, Tuba

September 24 Solitude (2018)*   by: Wagner Duarte; Ivan Smetankin, bass

Confusion (2018)*  by:  Anna Ivanova; Anna Ivanova, viola and electronic

String Quartet KV 465, “Dissonance” I  Adagio, Allegro  II Andante cantabile* by: W. A. Mozart(1756-1791); Tesseract String QuartetHannah Urdea, violin; Bingquing Xia, violin; Mounir Nessim, viola; Unusdian Errandonea, cello

Vagrants (2018)* by: Wagner Duarte; Wagner Duarte, cello; Manuel Trevino, marimba

Suite N. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011 Prelude by: J.S. Bach (1685-1750); Felipe Vianna, viola

Chronos (2018)*  by: Wagner Duarte; Wagner Duarte, prepared cello; Manuel Trevino, pandeiro

“Two a T” “Time Gone By” “East Boulevard”  by: Jackie Dean and the Squares; Jackie and Gill *World Premiere

Announcements Events
Posted in Announcements, Events

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Special Collections Hours

Contact Special Collections

Public Services Desk: (225) 578-6544

Reference Desk: (225) 578-6568

Fax: (225) 578-9425


Submit a reference question

RSS Feed RSS - Special Collections Posts